360haven works best with JavaScript enabled
Um...can someone tell me if this is true or not?
Loading
Register
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    mopcat

    Um...can someone tell me if this is true or not?

    recently ive been having trouble wif my xbox..
    sometimes when im playing, the whole xbox system woulda just freeze and unresponbile to anythings unless i turn it off by pressing the power button...



    and this is happening more and more to me...

    my xbox is kinda old, but it was working like a charm until recently

    the shop which hacked the xbox for me told me i shoulda reformat my add-on harddrive once in a whilte and tat would fix the problem...but if i do tat all my dlc and save and other etc would be gone so i tought that i should come up here and ask the pros before i do anything..

    my xbox is white, thick, i think its double 65nm version.

    im using this xexmenu system...i realy dont know wat itz call in english cuz i got it in china


    sorry if i didnt reply your answer cuz as u woulda already know, china got this great fire wall thing so every once in a while the internet connecting to the foreign network would get dissconnected

    anyways, thx again

    p.s.: this is happening to me alot especially when im playing saints row the third full package.
    and recently i bought a black op2 and after i install it and try to start new game(everything works fine untill i start the level) and it just black-screened on me and would do anything...but home buttom still works)...anyone know why?

    thx alot!

  2. #2
    Member
    just_a_thief is offline
    Join Date : Dec 2010
    Posts : 69
    Array

    Re: Um...can someone tell me if this is true or not?

    Either you're heading for a RROD or your cache needs clearing, iirc you could do that from the system menu, under the "memory" tab.

  3. #3
    Extorris
    Renegade is offline
    Join Date : Nov 2010
    Location : United Kingdom
    Posts : 2,626
    Array

    Re: Um...can someone tell me if this is true or not?

    If it's an old system then it's a JTAG applied xbox. most likely a Xenon motherboard chipset. You could try clearing the cache. Like thief said. Go to your memory devices on the actual dashboard, highlight the HDD and press (Y) then clear system cache. But the freezing, seems like the GPU is starting to die. You could very well be on the verse of RRoD or E74. To fix that you would need to get the solderballs on the GPU and CPU chips completely replaced and re-aligned professionally.

    As for games black screening, you may need to patch the game executable for the dashboard version you are on (if not the latest).

  4. #4
    mopcat

    Re: Um...can someone tell me if this is true or not?

    wow...thx man, the advises are great and...pro!
    well, later i found out something, i downloaded the dragon dogma's trainer and try to put it into the game folder...the trainer's explanation is "put it in the game folder where the default.xex is at..."
    but my game is ...dot god i think, so its not jtag....

    so is my console still a jtag model?
    btw sorry for being a noob...the one u said "Go to your memory devices on the actual dashboard, highlight the HDD and press (Y) then clear system cache. " where is the memory devices?
    do u mean the xexmenu? under "my games"?
    if so, i just go in there, and look for the page where a bunch of data is shown right? like the model...and all the other hardware data is at right?

    thx again man! ur awesome!

  5. #5
    mopcat

    Re: Um...can someone tell me if this is true or not?

    thx man!

    memory...oh wait...u mean the tab where the xbox has on itself? or under xexmenu? u mean the xbox own function right?

    thx again! ur awesome!

    btw watz RROD? lol

  6. #6
    JENGA MASTER SUPREME
    Emerald Lance

    Emerald Lance is offline
    Join Date : Dec 2010
    Location : Awesome Land
    Age : 27
    Posts : 1,834
    Array

    Re: Um...can someone tell me if this is true or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by mopcat View Post
    memory...oh wait...u mean the tab where the xbox has on itself? or under xexmenu? u mean the xbox own function right?
    I'm not sure if it's the same with JTAG, but "Memory" is in the "System" tab. Go to "System", highlight "Memory", press the "Y" button, and select to clear your cache.

    Quote Originally Posted by mopcat View Post
    btw watz RROD? lol
    Red Ring of Death. When the connections between hardware components are no longer linked, you'll get a general hardware error, which will be shown as a red ring around the power button with one of the four sides missing. In other words, it means the soldering is loose or melted and needs to be replaced. You might not get the ring right away, but freezing and black screens can often mean that something is starting to fail inside your console, and when it finally does completely fail you'll get the red ring.
    Downloads : 20 || Uploads : 0 || Rep Power : 4520 || Posts : 1,834 || Thanks : 436 || Thanked 628 Times in 306 Posts


    Quote Originally Posted by SaiyanPrince302, commenting on how to become a Super Saiyan,
    "I know where these guys are going, but in all seriousness, just trying to imagine loved ones being killed almost never works. Be a man and travel into space and shoot at asteroids until you get yourself in an actual life threatening situation."
    --Gamefaqs.com

  7. #7
    mopcat

    Re: Um...can someone tell me if this is true or not?

    Quote Originally Posted by Emerald Lance View Post
    I'm not sure if it's the same with JTAG, but "Memory" is in the "System" tab. Go to "System", highlight "Memory", press the "Y" button, and select to clear your cache.


    Red Ring of Death. When the connections between hardware components are no longer linked, you'll get a general hardware error, which will be shown as a red ring around the power button with one of the four sides missing. In other words, it means the soldering is loose or melted and needs to be replaced. You might not get the ring right away, but freezing and black screens can often mean that something is starting to fail inside your console, and when it finally does completely fail you'll get the red ring.


    lol got it thx! it seemed better after i clean the cache

    haha here in china we call RROD "San Hong", means three reds

    i was playing metal gear solid rising yesterday for 2 hours and it worked like a charm!

    thx man! uve been a great help!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. [YouTube] True Facts About The Frog
    By Idlehands88 in forum Youtube Famous
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-02-2014, 11:38 PM
  2. [YouTube] True Facts About The Owl
    By Idlehands88 in forum Youtube Famous
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-02-2014, 07:13 PM
  3. [YouTube] True Facts About The CuttleFish
    By Idlehands88 in forum Youtube Famous
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-02-2014, 06:59 PM
  4. True Blood!
    By DonVito1337 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-06-2012, 11:57 PM
  5. is it true about fallout 3
    By WOLFxMANx01 in forum Xbox 360 Modding Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-03-2012, 11:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.
     

About 360haven

    360haven is an Forum Devoted To Game modding Fans from all over the world.

    An Awesome Community of Xbox 360 Gamers, Modders and Developers who Create & Share Tutorials, Applications, Gfx, Trainers and Gamesaves.

    A haven for the l33t.
    A scarce paradise for modders.

Like this page

Google+