360haven works best with JavaScript enabled
Modding help (I'm new to this)
Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Snowfalke

Modding help (I'm new to this)

Hey I am getting into modding and I read the intro to modding thread and I still don't understand how to do what i want. It told me how to deal with game security and things like that but I want to know how to find the location of a character in a game and change his hair color and add new transformations and things like that.
    So for example if I wanted to change my custom hero's super saiyan hair color in dbz ultimate tenkaichi. how do I find my character and then
    figure out what code it is and then write the new one? Also could someone also tell me how to figure out if it is encrypted or if it has a
    checksum. I am really struggling.

Thanks for the help

JENGA MASTER SUPREME
    Emerald Lance

Array

Re: Modding help (I'm new to this)

Unfortunately, Ultimate Tenkaichi does indeed have a hash, so any attempts to mod the save will be fruitless.

That said, let's pretend it didn't have a hash. If you want to locate something that doesn't have a readily available numeric value that's easily translatable into hex (hair color for instance), the first thing you should do is back up your save as is to your computer. After that, make a slight change, and then move that save to your computer as well. Now compare both files and look for any differences. There will always be more than one (usually timestamps or the like), but at least one of those difference will be what you're looking for.