360haven works best with JavaScript enabled
Getting Into PC Gaming
Register
    Array
    Twitter: @

Getting Into PC Gaming

Hey guys, what's up? I decided I was going to get rid of consoles all together, and buy the best gaming PC I could get for around $600. But the thing is, I've only ever been a console gamer, so I'm a noob. I need some tips from you pro PC gamers out there, I'm not looking for some crazy setup, just something that works and won't kill my wallet for around $600. But me being new, I'm not familiar with anything PC gaming related at all, so I have a few questions.
    1. Steam? Is Steam like Xbox Live, except for PC's? Is this needed to play PC games? What is this exactly? I'm sorry, I'm a noob.
    2. I hate the keyboard and mouse combo because I'm coming over from a console, I know that I can buy gaming pads and gaming controllers for the PC, how well do these work?
    3. And finally, the games. I'm always hearing awsome things about Steam sales this and Steam sales that, so is it better to download them off of Steam or buy a hard copy from Wal-Mart or Gamestop or whatever?
    I'm sorry guys, I must sound like a rambling idiot, but I'm new to all of these, please help me understand a little more about PC gaming and help a noob out, since I'm getting rid of my consoles for a good gaming PC (Or one that gets the job done, doesn't have to be pretty)

Downloads : 11 || Uploads : 0 || Rep Power : 2401 || Posts : 119 || Thanks : 17 || Thanked 129 Times in 19 Posts

Music, Anime, Coffee

Retired Staff

Array
    Twitter: @

Re: Getting Into PC Gaming

I'll buy your consoles hit me up :D
    Downloads : 47 || Uploads : 0 || Rep Power : 13177 || Posts : 10,475 || Thanks : 3,231 || Thanked 1,396 Times in 1,224 Posts

Developer
    matthewjohn

Array

well steam is like xbox live yes but u can pretty much download any game for pc for free if u know where to go and u can use a xbox 360 controller on a pc so u dont have to use a key bord or mouse :)