Man Quits Job to Play Pokemon Go Full-Time
Register
    RETRO
    Gamer

Array
    Twitter: @

Man Quits Job to Play Pokemon Go Full-Time

I wanted to have an adventure
    The crazy Pokemon Go stories just keep coming. Today's item is news that a 24-year-old man from New Zealand has quit his job to play the monster-catching game full-time.

The man, Tom Currie, told The Guardian that he quit his job in Auckland last week to begin a two-month trip across New Zealand in an attempt to catch 'em all. Literally. His goal is to catch all 151 Pokemon in the game.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3095296-go5.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	21.6 KB 
ID:	17000
    Currie booked 20 bus trips and has already visited six towns on the South Island. He says he caught Pokemon everywhere he stopped and already has 90 of the game's 151 Pokemon.

"I wanted to have an adventure," Currie said. "I have been working for six years and I was desperate for a break. And Pokemon gave me the chance to live that dream."

On at least one occasion, Currie stayed up until 3 AM on his Poke-hunt. He's also staying in shape, as every day he walks "miles and miles."

Currie is saving money by traveling frugally; he sleeps on friend's couches or in backpacker dorms. Go to The Guardian to get the full story.

Pokemon Go is a huge hit. Released last week, the free-to-play title is now the most popular mobile game in United States history. On the business side, its release has helped Nintendo shares rise 86 percent, boosting the company's market value by $17 billion.